bludgeoning through

Freelance life. It comes as a surprise that it’s still a struggle sometimes, almost seven years down the line. Surely I should have acclimatised by now?

When it comes to the ebb and flow of work, the tapering off is still tough. Things aren’t at all bad at the moment. They are indeed ‘ticking over’. There’s stuff on the horizon, an engaging variety of work, a pipeline of sorts, though never a hugely reliable one. There are a number of chunkyish payments outstanding.  I need not feel too stressed, or as stressed as I have been in recent years.

And I’m not stressed as such. More confused, discombobulated, resentful of feeling a bit bored and not busy enough; perpetually frustrated by what I consider to be a lack of recognition and general unfairness; a bit lost.

I often work unsociable hours, evenings and weekends (albeit usually more out of passion and hope than rational profit) so I shouldn’t feel all that bad about taking my foot off the accelerator a bit during the week, about not sitting at a desk peering into the internet and over-comparing myself with apparently more successful people.

I shouldn’t but I do.

My conscience is threatened somehow when it doesn’t feel adequately occupied. What more could I, should I be doing? Don’t be lazy. Set your own agenda. Work produce work create work update work upkeep work.

You know as a self-employed person, you often have to work twice as hard to make half as much as a comparably aged and skilled civil servant. Or that’s what it can feel like anyway, seeing them mooch idly around town on lunchbreaks, probably during a day of meetings when they sitting around boardroom tables not saying much.

The other perpetual struggle is how isolated and solitary it is, working for yourself all the time; the lack of human contact and real world conversations, the loneliness. I always think to myself that I’m better equipped than most, with my total loner background and general misanthropic outlook. But still, it can be a challenge. We’re designed to want to interact, and when a dull week sags along without much by way of human punctuation it all feels rather dull. Maybe a dog would help.

At the moment, rediscovering the incredible early 1970s’  songwriting talent of Cat Stevens and Harry Nilsson is helping. Music of that era produced a beautifully unique, period style of whimsical uplifting melancholy. My Dad was a fan of Harry Nilsson and still has old vinyls, so I was familiar with some of his material, but Cat Stevens was only discovered after enjoying his soundtrack to the brilliant 1971 film Harold and Maude on Netflix. Spotify then provided all the related music that exists. We are ridiculously lucky to live in times when all this stuff is available on tap.

With any luck the dog might not be too far off though. Terrifyingly, we had an offer accepted on a house a couple of weeks ago, which would allow us to get a dog. But we are totally in the dark about timescales and the pessimist in me thinks it’ll probably be horribly protracted for at least 6 months and ultimately fall through altogether.

Exciting though, the prospect of not living in a flat for the first time in my adult life, aged 35. No way I could’ve entertained a mortgage alone of course, on my measly net profits. My key piece of first time property-buying advice would be: if you possibly can, marry someone with dead parents and considerably more money than you.

Just a mild whinge then, this conversational blog post, albeit with a faintly optimistic undercurrent. Written in lieu of an actual human conversation with another human in real life. Nice talking at you, internet. Mind how you go.

Leave a Reply

